Napa Vintners Announce Board Leadership for 2012


1/4/2012 - St Helena, CA--The Napa Valley Vintners (NVV) non-profit trade association announces its Board of Directors for 2012 who will lead the renowned group in its ongoing work as the essential organization for the promotion, protection and enhancement of the Napa Valley, its wines and its vintners.

Heading the Board as President will be Rick Jones of Jones Family Vineyards, Vice-President Russ Weis of Silverado Vineyards, Secretary Janet Viader of Viader Vineyard and Winery and Treasurer Eric Sklar of Alpha Omega.

Also serving on the board are; Bruce Cakebread of Cakebread Cellars; Susan Boswell of Chateau Boswell Winery; Kathleen Heitz Myers of Heitz Wine Cellars; Michael Honig of Honig Vineyard and Winery; Pat Stotesbery of Ladera Vineyards; Doug Shafer of Shafer Vineyards; and Bob Torres of Trinchero Napa Valley.

"This is a wonderful opportunity to work more fully with this outstanding trade association," said Jones. "It has been an honor serve on the board and with so many important initiatives coming to fruition, I think all of the board members are excited with the opportunities before us in 2012."

Jones founded his winery in 1996 as a family run partnership and continues an active role in its operation serving as CEO. Jones has served on and led numerous NVV committees and endeavors including Community and Industry Issues Committee and Auction Napa Valley Grants Review Committee. He is highly involved with the Napa Valley community serving on the boards of the St. Helena Hospital, the Napa Valley Community Foundation, as well as Napa Learns and the national organization, Raising a Reader.

The NVV Board also serves as the Board of Directors for Auction Napa Valley along with community board members including Clay Gregory of the Napa Valley Destination Council; Ed Matovcik of Intervine, Inc.; Dave Meyers, retired of Dickensen, Peatman and Fogarty law; and Rachel Wyckoff of Monticello Group.

About the NVV
The Napa Valley Vintners is the non-profit trade association responsible for promoting and protecting the Napa Valley appellation as the premier winegrowing region. From seven founding members in 1944, today the association represents more than 420 Napa Valley wineries and collectively is a leader in the world-wide wine industry. To learn more about our region and its legendary American wines, visit

# # #

Click to Download Jones Photo

Contact: Terry Hall, Communications Director 707-968-4217